Events / Special Events


Art Night

Last Wednesday of the month (September, October 2021 and January-April 2022) from 6:30 – 8:00 pm

FREE admission – Spencer's Community Room, 105 Park Street, Spencer

Revived from its brief life in 2020, the Tack is again offering ART NIGHT, a chance for adults to stretch their artistic muscles and try something new without fear of judgment. Carmen Schweiger, art educator for Spencer Schools, will provide the supplies needed for a different activity each month, allowing participants to enjoy friendly conversation, soothing music and light refreshments with other adults who are, perhaps, also in need of more leisurely pursuits. Check the Tack's Facebook or website for the project schedule and join the fun. There's no charge to attend and no need to sign-up. Call 715.659.4499 with questions or email info@lucilletackcenter.com.

Art Night

Art Museum Motorcoach Trip

Thursday, November 11, 2021 from 7:00 am – 9:30 pm | $50

DEADLINE to sign up: October 29

Journey west for a remarkable day exploring the visual arts. Enjoy a guided tour of Minneapolis Institute of Art and then wander amid its 90,000 culturally diverse pieces before pausing to delight in the many eateries and shopping experiences of Nicollet Mall. Explore history, art and culture at The Museum of Russian Art, shop Blick Art Materials or West Elm, grab another delicious bite and head home. Fee includes museum admissions and transportation via Progressive Travel motorcoach. Your registration confirmation will offer additional itinerary details. Space is limited and trip is contingent on lifted COVID-19 restrictions.

Art Museum Motor Coach Trip

An Evening with Author Jeff Nania

Wednesday, November 17, 2021 at 6:30 pm

FREE admission – Bring cash or canned goods to benefit King's Food Pantry

Murder and vengeance stalk the Northwoods, as award-winning author and outdoorsman extraordinaire, Jeff Nania, draws upon his careers both in law enforcement and natural resources to captivate readers with tales from his Northern Lakes Mystery series. In the first book, Figure Eight, readers meet John Cabrelli who, after a traumatic incident while on patrol in Madison, retreats to northern Wisconsin and unravels a mystery that could forever change the Northwoods. The story continues in Spider Lake and Bough Cutter as John adjusts to his new life in Namekagon. This best-selling series is perfect for fans of Victoria Houston, C. J. Box, and Patricia Skalka. Join us for a lively discussion and stories of Jeff's varied life experiences that provide fodder for his engaging crime fiction. Books will be available for purchase and signing.

Website: feetwetwriting.com

Jeff Nania

Basket Weaving Classes

Christmas Card Basket

Thursday, November 4, 2021 from 5:00 – 9:00 pm

Cost of materials and instruction is $40

Combining natural and dyed reed, this festive basket is perfect for decorating, presenting a gift or stashing your holiday greeting cards. Measuring 10"x7"x6" without the handle, participants will also learn to weave with the handle on the back of the basket.

Christmas Card Basket

Library Tote

Thursday, May 12, 2022 from 5:00 – 9:00 pm

Cost of materials and instruction is $40

Capable of beautifully stowing just about anything, this sturdy tote features Shaker Tape handles that also make it easy to carry. Bring a paper grocery bag to trace a pattern for a cloth liner to be made at home. It measures 12"x7"x8" with a choice of colors for the geometric trim.

Buy Tickets

Library Tote

Note: Both baskets are appropriate for any experience level. Your registration confirmation will include a list of basic weaving supplies to bring to class. The sessions are held in the Spencer High School Commons, Door #22. Shirley Mount is the instructor. thebasketpatch.com


Feel free to contact us with questions and/or comments.